British Bengal

The defeat of the last Independent Nabob of Bengal in the Battle of Plassey presented the Government of the India Company in 1757, with the British displacement of the Muslim ruling class of Bengal. Presidency of Bengal was created in 1765, with Kolkata as capital. The permanent agreement created a feudal system and as a result, a series of deadly famine struck the region.

Mutiny 1857 began to the presidency of Bengal, with great revolts of the army of Bengal in Dhaka, Calcutta and Chittagong. East Bengal has witnessed many indigenous revolts, including Haji Shariatullah Faraizi Movement, Titumir activities, Chittagong’s assault and revolutionary formations such as Anushilan Samiti. Bengal Renaissance prospered due to the educational and cultural institutions that were established throughout the region, especially in East Bengal and the imperial colonial capital of Calcutta. The presidency of Bengal has become the cradle of modern political and artistic expression in South Asia. It included the outstanding contributions of Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Mir Mosharraf Hossain, Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, Jagadish Chandra Bose, Khan Bahadur Ahsanullah, Rabindranath Tagore, Michael Madhusudan Dutt, Kazi Nazrul Islam and Begum Rokeya. Gopal Krishna Gokhle, mentor Mahatma Gandhi said that “what thinks today of Bengal, India thinks tomorrow. ”

During British rule, East Bengal developed a trading-oriented plantation economy in the production of jute and tea. Their participation in the world jute supply reached a peak in the early 20th century, with more than 80%. East Bengal Railway and Assam Bengal Railway served major trade routes, connecting the port of Chittagong with a large hinterland.

Due to a growing demand for the development of education in East Bengal, the British divided Bengal in 1905 and created the administrative division of East Bengal and Assam. Based in Dhaka, with Shillong as the summer capital and Chittagong as the main port, the new sub-continent province covered a large northeast part. Muslim League in India formed in Dhaka in 1906 and emerged as the standard-bearer of Muslims in British India. The Bengal division angered the anti-British Hindu and Muslim nationalists, leading the Swadeshi movement through the Indian National Congress. The score was canceled in 1911 after a long campaign of civil disobedience designed by Congress.

Independence Movement of India has experienced strong momentum in the Bengal region, including the constitutional struggle for the rights of Muslim minorities. The Intelecto Freedom Movement has flourished at the University of Dhaka. In 1930, Krishak Party Praja, AK Fazlul Huq-led and Swaraj Party, led by CR Das, came to represent the new Bengali middle class – Huq became Prime Minister of Bengal in 1937. With the breakup of the Hindu and Muslims in the British Raj, Huq was allied with the Muslim League to present the Lahore resolution in 1940, which provides independent states in the eastern subcontinent and northwest.

During the Second World War, the Japanese Air Force carried out air strikes at Chittagong in 1942, displacing several thousand people. The Bengal famine caused by the war in 1943 cost the lives of more than a million people. Allied forces were stationed in bases around East Bengal in support of the Campaign for Burma, while allied armies Subhash Chandra Bose also had an important track in East Bengal.

The Muslim League formed a parliamentary government in Bengal in 1943, with Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin and later H. S. Suhrawardy as their prime ministers. In 1946 the decisive victory of the Muslim League of Bengal in the provincial elections set the course for the division of British India and the creation of the Dominion of Pakistan on August 14, 1947. Assam was divided to allow speech Sylhet bengali Has joined East Bengal. There was also an unsuccessful attempt to form a Kingdom of Bengal. The Radcliffe line Bengal divided for religious reasons, giving districts the rule of majority Indian Hindu and districts to become Muslim majority in the eastern wing of Pakistan.